get it here
Meta4 Bandcamp
release date
1 May 2020

The Missing Symp.toms (Part One)

  • 01. Mental Wreckage - Wandering in the Dark
  • 02. Mental Wreckage & Syndemic - Unilluminated
  • 03. Mental Wreckage - Unusual
  • 04. Empty.Shell - Arh+

In the 00s Symp.tom was one of the boldest trailblazers among the industrial hardcore labels. Now, a good decade after its demise, fellow time traveller Meta4 is honoured to release four lost gems by one of Symp.tom’s main artists, Mental Wreckage. Other than the revisited/remixed versions on the 2017 Dark.Descent EP, these are lost originals, treasures so far hidden.

One instantly notices how topical these still are: Rough and ready, bustling with noise and layers of atmosphere, well lined up for any contemporary DJ set. Get two relentless and upfront tracks, plus a percussive gem featuring Syndemic (a sadly short-lived production unit) and a bouncing finale by MW alias Empty.Shell.

And where there’s a part 1, one may also hope for part 2, right?

Record Label:
Meta4 Recordings

Catalog nr:

All tracks written by L. Koehorst.
Track 2 written by B. Olde Hampsink.
Mixed by L. Koehorst & D. Jacobs.
Mastered by SMAC.